Gallery Wall Finished!

I’m back with the before and after of my gallery wall entry way! It took 3 weeks, but I finally got it all up on the wall.

Back in my last post, I shared my inspiration from YHL. I basically followed their method for making a gallery wall, but I’ll share all the details here. I started by taking all of the frames I wanted to use and laying them out on the floor until I found a pattern I liked.

Then I made newspaper templates the size and shape of each of the frames I wanted to use. I put numbered post-it notes on each of the frames (the blue things in the previous picture) and wrote the corresponding number on the newspaper template. This helped me keep my layout the way I wanted and made hanging the frames easier. Sorry about the bad quality of the pictures… they were taken late at night. You can do this at any time of the day, but I was working on this around 3 am thanks to a bout of insomnia caused by Prednisone which I was taking to get rid of the worst case of poison ivy I have ever had. Yeah, it was a fun week. Enough complaining; I then put the templates up on the wall using painter’s tape which turned out looking like this:

Not exactly beautiful, but a great start. I played with it a little because the spacing seemed off a bit, but I kept the same general layout. Once I got it like I wanted, I started hanging up frames. I marked on the newspaper where the nail should go, then hammered it in. I didn’t remove the paper until after the nail was in place. It was a slow process…

But eventually I got them all up on the wall. And I really liked it. Like, jumping up and down squealing with joy liked it. But even though I liked it, it looked like this:

Rather unfinished. And, yes, I did have company over for dinner one night with it still looking like this. Well, I did take the time to pick up the newspaper trash and put awway the drill, but the frames were still mostly empty. So I started the long process of picking out what to put in my frames. I started looking through pictures that I already, went to my Pinterest for inspiration for some artwork, and then got to work. Within a few days, I had an order with Shutterfly and was patiently checking the mailbox daily. Maybe not so patiently… then last Monday the pictures arrived! Time to put it all together. I am overjoyed with how it turned out:

And for those of you who want to be able to actually tell what is in the frames:

I finished off the console with a globe that Joseph gave me, a  tray from Goodwill that I spraypainted white, and some milk glass pieces that I love. I do plan on getting a bigger basket to hold the wireless fence controller (the big ugly thing barely concealed in the white basket to the left). I’m thinking one of these from Ikea may help tie this overly-white vignette in with the rest of the room.

I’ll be back tomorrow with some more info about the three pieces of art that I DIY-ed and about the shadow boxes with my grandma’s jewelry. I know, it seems a splurge to get two posts in as many days after I was gone for weeks. I’m trying, I promise!

Please let me know what you think of my gallery wall! Do you like the contrast of white frames with the dark console? Or do you think it looks crazy? Do you have your own gallery wall? I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

