For the Love of Burlap

As I sit in class, I thought I’d go ahead and tell you about the newest addition to my home – my burlap wreath! This past fall I saw them all over the web. Here are a few that I loved:

I decided to make mine similar to the first two above. It was SO easy! I bought 2 yards of burlap from JoAnn’s with the intention of making this wreath and some placemats for my dining room table. I was going to start with the wreath, so I cut 1 yard of it into four inch strips. I then took a wire clothes hanger and bent it into a circle. At this point all you have to do is fold the strips and push it onto the hanger. When I started I was doing a straight accordion fold, but I didn’t really like the way that looked, so I took it all off and restarted doing a messy accordion fold with twists and turns so that sometimes the fold was facing out and sometimes the cut edges were facing out. When I had used that yard, I realized that I wanted a much fuller and tighter wreath so I went ahead and cut up the other yard and used it, too. Here is my (sort-of) final product:

I safety-pinned  some little red and white rosettes to the bottom. I really love that I can change the total look of these wreath by adding and changing the embellishments. As you can tell, the weight of the wreath pulled it into an oval. I didn’t really notice that until I was looking through these pictures, so I have since fixed that by adding a little bit of a bend on the sides. I also switched out the ribbon that is holding it up to a thick, white linen ribbon. Hopefully this year-round wreath adds a little bit of cheer to my boring front door!

 

Do you like the idea of year-round wreaths or do you think that wreaths should always be green and only be seen in December? Do you have a favorite wreath that you display? I’d love to hear all about it!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

