Project Life Pics: Week 2

Here are my pictures for Week 2 of my Project Life! I am so excited that I have kept up with it. Having the goal of taking a picture a day to document means that I usually take many pictures each day – something that I was not doing before this project! I will give you a little bit of info about each day/picture since I realize that waiting an entire month to figure out what a picture is all about can be a little annoying!

Sunday, January 9: I chose one of the pictures of the waterfall in Falls Park. You can read more about this trip here.

Monday, January 10: Yummy bowl of homemade chicken, corn, and potato chowder.

Tuesday, January 11: My slippered feet (it was a snow day).

Wednesday, January 12: Homemade pesto pasta with Italian grilled chicken breast.

Thursday, January 13: Me studying on the floor of my living room.

Friday, January 14: My Goodwill version of an apothecary jar (blogged about here).

Saturday, January 15: The main picture is of my TV during the Miss America pageant when my friend Adrienne was introducing herself. Saturday was jam-packed with stuff, though, so I am adding two other pictures in a folded journaling card as well. The first is a picture of some vintage Pyrex bowls that I bought off Craigslist:

The other picture I am going to include is off my great-uncle at his 90th birthday party:

 

I am doing my layouts a little differently than most people who are doing Project Life as shown in my weekly uploads. Here’s a little visual to help you see how it is all going to look in the book:

I like looking at both pages as one spread instead of breaking it up into two individual pages. This means that I go all the way across the top before coming down to the bottom. This just makes more sense to me. I’m also going to keep my journaling in the same order each week like I have shown. Lots of Project Lifers will use the arrows that are provided with the kit (and shown in the first diagram) to connect the journaling with the appropriate picture. I need the consistency of always have the journaling in the spot and in chronological order. Now I know some of you are looking at this diagram and are thinking “AH! The Tuesday journaling is SOOOOO far away from the picture!!! That doesn’t work!!” For me, this isn’t a catastrophe. I have the colorful stickers with the day of the week on each journaling card and the corresponding white day of the week sticker on the photo spot. Since both the journaling and the pictures are in chronological order and will be in the same place on each layout, I’m perfectly comfortable with the journaling spots not touching their corresponding picture. If you’re not, do what you are comfortable with. I make my Project Life work for ME just as you should make your Project Life work for YOU and your family.

If you are doing Project Life (or any sort of project where the focus is documenting your life on a regular basis), please leave me a comment with a link to your pictures or blog! I’d love to check it out! I would also love to hear how everyone else is setting up their layouts in addition to any other ideas or suggestions you may have! I hope you are staying motivated and keeping up with everything. Just think, if you started with the New Year, you already have two weeks of your life documented in your own voice – what a precious gift to your family!

12 Comments to “Project Life Pics: Week 2”

  1. your pesto looks like it should have been good—but i suppose green slime is an acquired taste? lol

    • I guess it’s just not for me. I gave the rest of it to my mom who was extremely thankful. She said it all it needed was a little salt. I don’t think a boatload of salt could have made me *love* it, though. Basically, it’s crossed off the list of things I want to try one day and that’s the good I can say about it.

  2. These were awesome. Hope you have a great week.

  3. I’m visiting from Project Life Tuesday. I HAD to click on your picture when I saw the Pyrex bowls. Where did you find them? I love them. i’ have been looking for a set at Goodwill. Great pictures and layout!

  4. I just saw you got them off of Craigslist. I was so excited to see them, I didn’t look at the details.

    • I had been looking for a set for a quite some time! I inherited one bowl from my grandmother in this pattern, and I had been looking to expand my collection. About once a month I would get on Craigslist and type in “pyrex spring blossom” and nothing would ever come up… until this! I was so happy to find them (and at a steal too – $25!!) Thanks for letting me know that I’m not the only one who LOVES this set!

  5. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I guess we must have similar eyes.

  6. I use the same layout technique that you do…I think of each week as one layout, so it makes sense to me…my daughter however, uses the traditional layout method…that’s why PL is so great….to each his own 🙂

    Great pix!

  7. I enjoyed stopping by your blog. I found you on PL Tuesday. I love those bowls! I have a blue one that is the size of the second one from the top. I never thought to look for the others in the set. I will look forward to seeing your PL progress this year. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

